Perfect Terrace Weather

About this time of year, the days get long and (mostly) sunny and all of the restaurants open their terraces. The other expats call this “Terrace Season,” the other season being “Rainy Season.” Yesterday we had perfect terrace weather in Maastricht, 23 degrees C with a slight breeze (yes, we’re back from Budapest now). We enjoyed dinner, dessert, and beers by the Maas. Although the Danube is nice, I have to say we are partial to the Maas.

It already stays light until almost 9pm. Fortunately I have no problem sleeping when it is light out, bit some of my colleagues also call it the season of perpetual sleep deprivation.

Literary side note: I have taken to calling them colleagues instead of coworkers because the Dutch word is “collega’s,” so everyone at work says colleagues. By the time I move back to the US I will have the most peculiar parlance.

Leave a comment